Rad Reads

1212book

For anyone wanting some books to read here is what I was reading the last bit of 2013, i will warn you it is a weird mix of genres but they are all good.

Half the Sky by Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn. If you are interested in human trafficking. Did not realize that one of the big ways to help is just through simple things like food, water, and education.

Unholy Night by Seth Grahame-Smith. Super interesting fictional, fantastical perspective on the events surrounding Christ’ birth. Gave me a whole new appreciation for the Christmas story. Could not put it down!

The Cloister Walk by Kathlees Norris. Lovely and beautiful reflections on time spent with monks, makes you feel like you were there.

Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón. A super great novel about endangered books and mysteries and yeah I can’t describe it but trust me it was great. I didn’t want to put it down but I needed to get stuff done and it’s a loooong book so I ended up downloading the audio version as well that way I could work and listen :)

House Girl by Tara Conklin. A simple fun novel that bounces between past and current events and what may or may not have happened. I always like stuff like this because it makes me think about people that lived before me and all the things I never knew about them and how there is so much that future generations will not know about me.

Exodus by Leon Uris. Historical, Political fiction. Captivating read. I certainly learned sooooooo much about events I knew nothing about and it wasn’t even that long ago. We live in such a bubble of safety and security and comfort.

Snow in August by Pete Hamill. I never knew all the racism directed at Jews in the past until I read this book. Super interesting. Makes you think about stereotyping, making judgements, love and forgiveness and so much more. It’s a pretty sad book but really good at the same time.

The Liars Club by Mary Karr. Just a really good memoir, and I love a good memoir.

Crazy Love by Francis Chan. I feel like if you are someone who thinks of yourself as a Christian in any sense this should be required reading.

What about you? Anything amazing?

 
 
 
 

One thought on “Rad Reads

Leave a Reply

