Making an Art Piece / Jewelry Box


This is the jewelry box that I dreamed up (literally), my husband built, i painted, we hung, and courtney photographed! I love it because it hides all my jewels, saves space and looks great (even though the painting is hardly finished yet).

I know I am not the only one who has a lack of dresser space, a surplus of jewels, and a desire to keep my space looking stylish and neat all at the same time. I know a lot of people are interested in how to make a box themselves so here are some simple but hopefully helpful instructions on what we did. 

Disclaimer – The box based on these instructions measures about 4’x2′. We are not carpenters by any means and I’m sure it could be made better but it will at least give you an idea of how to do it. Also this is based on what our local Home Depot sells so it may be different for everyone – again it is just an idea of how to build one.

Thanks for looking!


One 11/32” 2×4 Sanded Plywood Project Panel – $9.45

One 1/8” 2×4 Tempered Hardboard Project Panel – $5.42

Two 1” x 4” 6’ Select Pine Boards @ $6.68/each = $13.36


One 1-1/2” x 30” Continuous Hinge – $8.97

One 64mm Double Magnetic Catch w/Strike – $1.79

Two bags #10 x 2” Wood Screws (4pc) @ $1.18/bag = $2.36

Two bags #6 x 1-1/4” Wood Screws (12pc) @ $1.18/bag = $2.36

One bag #4-40 x 1/2” Machine Screws (8pc) – $1.18

One pack 2” Common Nails (25pc) – $1.30

One pack 3/4” Brass Hooks (threaded) (4pc) – $1.18

Optional: One pack 2” Inside Corner Braces (4pc) – $4.68

Optional: Gorilla Glue (8oz) – $3.83

Total Cost:

$47.37  or $55.88 (optional)


Step 1: Put your 1×4’s together and make a frame.

Step 2: Attach the sanded plywood panel to one side. Now you should have what essentially looks like a shadow box or deep frame. If you want to attach cross braces on the inside of the frame you totally can.

Step 3: center and attach the hinges from one long side of your frame to the long edge of the tempered hardboard panel.

Step 4: attach the magnetic components to the top inside of the frame and the top of the ‘door’

Step 5: Mark where you want jewelry to hang and then put in nails, screws, hooks, knobs wires etc as desired – just be careful you don’t go all the way through the back.

Step 6: Paint the outside or decorate as desired then screw through the back to attach to the wall (that is what the x’s represent in the drawing) put your jewelry away and enjoy.

Thanks for checking this out and for appreciating creativity!

– Rachel

76 thoughts on “Making an Art Piece / Jewelry Box

  1. Siddhy says:

    Hi, I’m from Italy! I have so many jewelry that I don’t know where to put it. Your idea is amazing! Hope I will have this box in my future home :D

  2. kapa says:

    It would also be a good idea to have a mirror inside, so that you can try on whatever you want, without having to move around the house.

  3. steve says:

    Nicely done! If one went vertical rather than horizontal, with the hinge on the side, one could incorporate the mirror more easily (thinking in a narrow walk-in closet). And one might consider pegboard for the backing, to allow for more customization. Just tweaks to an excellent idea!

  4. Catherine says:

    This is awesome! Have you decided if you are going to sell them? I’d be interested in getting one. If so, please let me know so we can go over the details. Thanks!

  5. Julianne says:

    I showed this to my amazing dad and he built me one almost identical, but instead of a painting, we used a framed picture I took during a family trip, and on the inside, we glued some cork panels so I could pin my jewlery as I want and reorganize it if needed. Thank you very much for that amazing idea, I absolutely love it!!

  6. Amy Schucknecht says:

    I also love this. I am thinking of redoing my bathroom and this would go great between my two mirrors. Will you make just the box? Or are you doing them all with artwork. I would just want the base box and willosaic the outside!

  7. bergencountyjc says:

    Am I missing something in the Materials section? I see the listed long boards that make up the box but don’t see measurements for the other 2 sides of the rectangle (smaller sides). Also it seems some of the measurements even display as feet in American measurements. i.e. “Two 1” x 4” 6’ Select Pine Boards @ $6.68/each = $13.36” What is supposed to be 6 feet? The alternative of 6 inches seems way too small as well.

    • whiskeydrinkstudio says:

      The long sides are each 4 feet and the short sides are 2 feet. So if you buy 2, 6 foot boards and cut them you should at 4ft you will end up with 2, 4 ft pieces for the top and bottom and 2, 2ft pices for the short sides. Hope that helps.

  8. Shelby says:

    Hey! Did you ever get around to selling these wonderful things!! I could build it but I am not creative enough to paint it. I love the vertical idea with a mirror on the opposing side.

  9. Heike says:

    This is great! I’m makung one as a housewarming gift for my sister, and was wondering how you attached the hinge to the hardboard panel without having screws stick out the front? Thanks so much for a wonderful idea :-)

  10. whitedelusion says:

    I love this idea. It could be used for crafting tools too. I am thinking to do something like this from a small wooden box I already have. Thanks for sharing this amazing project! :)

  11. Jordan says:

    Just found this on pinterest and love the idea! I was thinking for the non-artist getting a engineer print of a photograph and modpoge-ing it on might work also.

  12. Lara says:

    Wow, what an awesome project! The one thing i hate about my jewelry holder is that it’s super messy looking. This cabinet hides them perfectly out of sight while still being functional and rad! Any update on if you are selling them at some point?


  13. Jenessa says:

    This is amazing, so amazing in fact that I am in the process of building one myself for a Christmas gift for a friend. I’ve run into a bit of an issue however with the continuous hinge’s provided screws, and wondered if maybe I could see if it was a problem you had run into as well and had figured out a solution. When I went to attach it to the tempered hardboard I noticed that it would most definitely come through the front face with my artwork on it D: I wondered if maybe you were able to find small enough replacement screws, or maybe you cut them down so they wouldn’t cut through? I’m planning on exploring both of these options but thought since you had already successfully built yours I may as well see what you had done. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

